My trip to NYC:an access to Chinese deaf community overseas

  I started off to NYC on Dec.22 and came back on 29. The short trip is impressing and special. Although it was Christmas break, my trip was not just for leisure or for fun. Exactly, it is more like a field investigation to me, which needs great efforts to accomplish.

  I live in a Chinese deaf teacher’s house. His mother is a famous sign language interpreter from Shanghai and we have been friends for many years. Another Chinese deaf girl who is pursuing her MA degree at Gallaudet University happened to be in their house, too. I observed the complicated language contact and made an deep interview with the interpreter friend. Through their introduction, I have met some other Chinese deaf people who have been in the US for a long time. We visited the city together and had a good time.

Leave a Reply

