Weekly Summary(20170605-20170609)

  1. Work completed list

-This is the last week I stayed in MDS. I finished all the teaching and said goodbye to all of the staff by sending them a PPT named “No Man Is an Island”. I received many warm feedbacks. Here are part of them,

“I truly enjoyed having you here at Metro Deaf School, and I know that you will continue to visit here when you are in the USA.  I don’t know if I’ll ever make it out to China, but I will always have fond memories of my China connections. Thank you for putting this together and sharing this with all of us.  We were truly blessed, and we will truly miss you. This is not goodbye, this is “see you later!”  Blessings to you on your journey.”

“I will treasure the photos you’ve sent, especially those of the beautiful children at MDS benefiting from your year-long support of expanding their world…to China!  What a gift you have given and it’s clear that MDS has given you many gifts as well. You are most welcome back in Minnesota any time!  You have family here.”

“Wonderful power point show!  I enjoyed watching your experiences over the past year.  Thank you for sharing, and I am glad your experience at MDS and in America has been positive for you and that you have learned so much.  Based on the comments shared during board meetings about your work, it shows that the MDS family has learned so much from you too.  I have heard many, many good things and accolades about your work at MDS.  Thank you for your time and dedication to MDS.  Best of luck as you return to China, and I hope you are able to come back to MN.  Have a safe journey.”

“Wow, what a beautiful story!  And as you said, one that will be ongoing!  We have been so fortunate to have you here.  We have all learned from our experience together. THANK YOU for your sacrifice to be away from your family and home for this long period of time. ”

“Thank you so much for your love and compassion you’ve shared with everyone here. Please share MDS with your country and your Deaf community–there’s so much of “us” in you now  to take back home  and you are leaving your wisdom, love and kindness with our staff and students to be treasured forever. ”

“Wow, what a beautiful story!  And as you said, one that will be ongoing!  We have been so fortunate to have you here.  We have all learned from our experience together. THANK YOU for your sacrifice to be away from your family and home for this long period of time.”

“This is really beautiful. We are so very fortunate to have a wonderful teacher expose, teach, immerse, and inspire our students to such a wonderful culture and language.  Thank you so, so much for everything you have done, and will do.  :)”

“Beautiful!  I know I haven’t had much of a chance to hang out with you or work with you, but I appreciate everything you have brought to us here at MDS.  I would LOVE to have you back in the fall, but if we don’t see you, we will miss you!  Best of luck to you!”

-The students from Amanda’s class give me their cards as gift to express their missing and love. I saw many lovely words in these cards. Some are even written in Chinese.

-I fnished the video taking of classes and interviews. I interviews several teachers, para and administrators, including Susan and Melissa. These are all very precious informations to Chinese deaf education. In the interview, they highly praised me for the CC work and expressed that they want me to stay.  

-I finished the High School teaching. In the last class, I made some video of the chatting in CSL between me and students.

-The staff from Hands&voices invited me to join their activities in this summer. This means I need to fly to Yinchuan, Ningxia province to communicate with the teachers and parents of the deaf children there as a deaf presenter. It seems like a Cochlea implantation program but the leader’s idea are objective. They show respect to sign language and want to change the Chinese parents’ ideas.

-Since all the wall in the campus need to be cleaned, I removed the posters and pictures from our Chinese Culture Wall. They are stored in the cabinet and waiting for the next teacher.

-On the last day of the semester, the MDS families gather at Como Park to enjoy our time.

  1. Work planned list

-To attend a series of meetings and workshops in China.

-To review the conditions of my research center in CQNU and meet my MA students.

-To write something to introduce the experience of MDS to Chinese special education journal.

Leave a Reply

